Shri Shashi Kant Sharma

Comptroller and Auditor General of India



Shri Shashi Kant Sharma belongs to the 1976 batch of Indian Administrative Service (Bihar Cadre). He has wide experience in the fields of Public Administration, Financial Services and Infrastructure Development. He was serving as Defence Secretary from July 2011 before joining this constitutional post. Prior to this, he has served as Secretary Department of Financial Services in the Ministry of Finance and as Secretary, Information Technology in the Ministry of Communication and I.T. He has also served as Director on the Boards of Directors of State Bank of India and Life Insurance Corporation of India. He has also worked as Additional Secretary, Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions, Joint Secretary in Ministry of Defence, Principal Commissioner, Delhi Development authority and also as Director in Ministry of Human Resources Development.
At the State level, Shri Sharma served as District Magistrate/Collector/Deputy Commissioner in the districts of Patna, Singhbhum, Palamau and Bhagalpur. He has also worked as Labour Commissioner, Managing Director of Bokaro Industrial Area Development Authority and as Secretary in the Departments of Road Construction, Urban Development, Industrial Development and Excise in the Government of Bihar.
Shri Sharma's responsibilities in the international arena include chairmanship of the U.N. Panel of External Auditors and member of the Governing Board of the International Organization of Supreme Audit Institutions (INTOSAI). He also has the responsibility, as chair, of steering the INTOSAI Knowledge Sharing and Knowledge Services Committee and its Working Group on IT Audit. He is also a member of the Professional Standards Committee and Sub-Committee on Financial Audit, Compliance Audit and Performance Audit of INTOSAI and of various working groups of INTOSAI. Shri Sharma is also the Chairman of the Governing Board of the Asian Organization of Supreme Audit Institutions (ASOSAI).
Shri Sharma did his M.Sc. in Administrative Science and Development Problems, University of York, U.K. and M.A. in Political Science from Agra University.